; ; ;

188 stage Hero's Journey (Monomyth)

The Hero's Journey (Monomyth) is the template upon which the vast majority of successful stories and Hollywood blockbusters are based upon. In fact, ALL of the hundreds of Hollywood movies we have deconstructed (all available at are based on this 188+ stage template.

Understanding this template is a priority for story or screenwriters. This is the template you must master if you are to succeed in the craft.

[The terminology is most often metaphoric and applies to all successful stories and screenplays, from The Godfather (1972) to Brokeback Mountain (2006) to Annie Hall (1977) to Lord of the Rings (2003) to Drugstore Cowboy (1989) to Thelma and Louise (1991) to Apocaplyse Now (1979)].



a) Attempts to tap into unconscious expectations the audience has regarding what a story is and how it should be told.

b) Gives the writer more structural elements than simply three or four acts, plot points, mid point and so on.

c) Gives you a tangible process for building and releasing dissonance (establishing and achieving catharses, of which there are usually four).

d) Gives you a universal structural template upon which you can superimpose your situational story. This is why stories such as Alien (1979), Gladiator (2000), Midnight Cowboy (1969), American Beauty (1999), The Graduate (1967) and many others (all deconstructed at the URL below) appear to be different but are all constructed, almost sequence by sequence, in the same way.

and more...

[simply go to or or or for full details]


From the perspective of the physical Journey, the Elixir is a tangible, often a valuable prize of some sort. But from the perspective of the psychological transformation, the Elixir is the Master of the Two Selves. It is only once the Hero has become his (or her) Ultimate Self, that she (or he) can claim the tangible prize.

In The Insider (1999), it is only once both Lowell and Jeffrey have made the required sacrifices that they defeat the corporation.

In Back to the Future (1985), it is only once Marty has Mastered his Old and New Selves, that he can return to find the perfect family.

In Erin Brockovich (1999), it is only after Erin has Mastered her Old and New Selves, that she can go on to defeat PG&E.


Go to for more info on the 188+ stage Hero's Journey....