; ; ;

Kal Bashir's 510+ stage Hero's Journey (Monomyth)

The 510+ stage Hero's Journey (Monomyth) is the template upon which the vast majority of successful stories and Hollywood blockbusters are based upon. In fact, ALL of the hundreds of Hollywood movies we have deconstructed (all available at are based on this 510+ stage template.

Understanding this template is a priority for story or screenwriters. This is the template you must master if you are to succeed in the craft.

[The terminology is most often metaphoric and applies to all successful stories and screenplays, from The Godfather (1972) to Brokeback Mountain (2006) to Annie Hall (1977) to Lord of the Rings (2003) to Drugstore Cowboy (1989) to Thelma and Louise (1991) to Apocaplyse Now (1979)].



a) Attempts to tap into unconscious expectations the audience has regarding what a story is and how it should be told.

b) Gives the writer more structural elements than simply three or four acts, plot points, mid point and so on.

c) Gives you a tangible process for building and releasing dissonance (establishing and achieving catharses, of which there are usually four).

d) Gives you a universal structural template upon which you can superimpose your situational story. This is why stories such as Alien (1979), Gladiator (2000), Midnight Cowboy (1969), American Beauty (1999), The Graduate (1967) and many others (all deconstructed at the URL below) appear to be different but are all constructed, almost sequence by sequence, in the same way.

and more...

[simply go to or or or for full details]


The path to the New Self often involves a Conscious Decision to Sacrifice the Old Self.

In the Godfather (1972), Michael consciously sacrifices his Old Self ("I don't know when I'll be back, Kay...") and consciously accepts the transformation to his New Self ("I'm with you now Pop, I'm with you...").

In Star Wars (1972), Luke consciously lets go of his Old Self ("there's nothing for me here now; I'm never coming back here again...") and accepts the transformation to his New Self ("I want to become a Jedi like my father...").

In The Ten Commandments (1956), Moses consciously sacrifices the protection of Egypt to learn what it is to be a slave ("...I do not know what power shapes my way, but my feet are set upon a road that I must follow...").


Go to for more info on the 510+ stage Hero's Journey....